Gaelic Football

Gaelic Football in the Bish has always been an important place in the development of players for both club and county football. In recent years players like Peter Cooke and Eamonn Brannigan have represented the blue jersey of the Bish before continuing their careers and excelling in the maroon and white of Galway. There’s a dedicated group of teachers working extremely hard for Gaelic football to succeed in the school. In 2018 for example under the tutelage of Mr Alan Glynn and Mr Keith O Reilly the Bish won their first ever Connacht Junior A championship title by defeating St Gerald’s castlebar in the final 3-15 to 0-5. This was a fantastic achievement and hopefully the start of many more titles. The school has won Connacht titles at First year and Juvenile level too in recent years. We field teams at all levels and the development of players is at the forefront of our thinking. The school have players on every county development squad in Galway from u14 upwards to minor at u17. We currently have 6 players on the 2019 Galway minor panel. Last year over 7 players were on the victorious Ted Webb u16 panel that won the Connacht title ironically under the guidance of Mr Glynn. We had two players on the victorious Galway Connacht minor winning team too in 2018 in Eoin Tinney and Daniel Cox. Teachers involved in coaching include Alan Glynn, Ciarán de Paor, Cathal McGinn, Keith O Reilly, Alan Murphy, Rob Leonard and Trevor Burke.

Local Clubs:

The Bish is proud to have players from a number of different clubs in Galway city and county. We enjoy very strong and cordial links with our local GAA clubs and recognise the mutual benefit we enjoy. We currently have players from Killanin, Moycullen, Barna, St. James, Salthill/Knocknacarra, St. Michaels, Claregalway, Fr. Griffins/Eire Óg, Oranmore, Annaghdown & Oughterard. 


Bish Cup & Shield:

2018 saw the inaugural Bish Cup & Shield take place for our feeder primary schools. 12 schools and over 200 players competed in a keenly contested competition in Dangan sports ground. Scoil Shéamais Naofa, Bearna were the winners of the cup competition with St. Pat's winning the shield. We look forward to welcoming back all these schools again in 2019. 


1st Year football blitz:

Every year we play an inter-class league for all first years as part of sports week. This is a keenly anticipated blitz that takes place in May.


Ted Webb:

Galway City/West have won the last two prestigious Ted Webb competitions. The Bish have had a number of players on both squads. These include:

2017 City West Winners (5) Rian Oates, Eoghan Tinney, Iarlaith O' Sullivan, Sam Keating & Tommy Kilduff 

2018 City West Winners (8) Dylan Cummins, Aaron Flynn, Rory McDonnell, Ethan Fiorentini, PJ Ward, David Hurley, Daniel Cox & Evan Nolan


Galway Minor:

2018 - Daniel Cox and Eoghan Tinney won the 2018 Connacht minor title with Galway defeating Roscommon in the final. They also defeated Clare and Meath on the way to the All Ireland final. Heartbreak was to follow in the final with a narrow defeat to Kerry./p>

2019 - We wish this years minor squad the very best of luck. At the moment we have 8 representatives currently in the Galway minor squad including Ethan Fiorentini, Daniel Cox, Conal Gallagher, Daniel Flatherty, James Egan, PJ Ward, Rory McDonnell and Evan Nolan.

Galway Senior: We have a number of players on the current Galway senior football panel. These include Peter Cooke, Tom Flynn and Eamon Brannigan.


2019 U16 Ted Webb Shield winners

Bish students who played for Galway managed by Bish teacher Alan Glynn included Matthew Mulvaney, Patrick Dillon, Alex Naughton, Dara O' Malley, Rory Forde and Aaron Kavanagh.


2019 All Ireland Minor Finalists v Cork

Bish Students James Egan, Daniel Cox, Daniel O' Flaherty, Conall Gallagher, Evan Nolan and Ethan Fiorentini represented Galway on All-Ireland Minor final day.



In January 2020 Mr Alan Glynn was selected as the new Galway minor football manager.


Bish Football Coaches: Alan Glynn, Ciaran de Paor, Alan Murphy, Keith O'Reilly, Trevor Burke, Cathal McGinn, Rob Leonard.

Connacht A Junior Gaelic Champions 2018 with coaches Alan Glynn and Keith O'Reilly Bish Senior Gaelic Squad February 2018


back to top

This website uses no tracking cookies. However, third party services (such as Google, Facebook and Twitter) do use cookies. More info. I'm fine with thisGet me out of here