The Bish has a proud Hurling history dating back to the beginning of the previous century when the first School team took to the fields. That tradition has continued right up to the current day as players from local and city clubs like Liam Mellows, Castlegar, Rahoon Newcastle, Bearna, Salthill, Annaghdown and Moycullen continue to wear the Bish jersey with pride.

The School won its only Connacht Senior A title in 1969 and followed that up by reaching the All Ireland B Final a year later. Those successes would prove to by the high point of that era as successes were few and far between then around the 2000’s which saw a resurgence in popularity of the sport in both the city and the school which meant we became the strongest Hurling school in the city. Many First Year, Juvenile and Junior B titles were won but still a senior B Title eluded us. However in 2017 we succeeded in claiming the Keith Hayes Cup with a hard fought win over Portumna Community School a first in 47 years.

We currently have 4 Hurling teams competing in school competitions 1st Year, 1st&2nd Year Combined, Junior and Senior. Hopes are high that we can build on recent successes and continue to provide our players with a high level of competition to aid their growth as players. Many of our former players have gone on to achieve great things in the game, players such as Ger Farragher and John Lee have gone on to represent their county at the highest level. While Liam Mellows recent senior title was backboned by “Bish” lads, an amazing 26 players and backroom members were past pupils lead by Captain David Collins, himself a past pupil also. Jack Coyne is a current Galway senior player and was one of five pupils who won All Ireland Minor Hurling medals in recent years along with teacher Shane Cusack who coached those successful sides.


back to top