Bish 1st Year Footballers in Connacht Final




Bish 2-09

Pres Athenry 1-09

The Bish advanced to the 1st year Connacht Football Final on the 14th of April. In an excellent game the lads prevailed by 3 points. Leading by 5 points at half time the Bish had to withstand heavy pressure late in the game and Pres Athenry search for a late equalising goal was thwarted by a mean defence and goalkeeper Tom Kelly. Man of the match Evan Nolan had an outstanding game at midfield chipping in with 4 points. He was ably assisted by great performances from Aaron Kavanagh, Ethan Fiorentini, David Hurley, James Morris Burke and the excellent Conor Corcoran.

Up next in the Connacht Final is a meeting with Claregalway or St. Attractas from Sligo who play in the other semi-final. 


Tom Kelly (St. Michaels)

Aaron Kavanagh (Barna)

James Morris Burke (St. Michaels)

Josh Ruffley (St. Michaels)

Conor Corcoran (Moycullen)

Rory McDonnell (Salthill/Knocknacarra)

Ethan Fiorentini (St. Michaels)

Evan Nolan (Salthill/Knokcnacarra)

Aaron Flynn (St. Michaels)

David Hurley (St. Michaels)

Danel Cox (Moycullen)

Gavin Summerville (St. Michaels)

PJ Ward (St. Michaels)

Daniel O'Flatherty (Salthill/Knocknacarra)

Mikey Maguire (St. Michaels)




The Bish 1st Year footballers secured a passage into the Connacht Semi-Final at the expense of St. Mary's College, Galway on Thursday 25th February. 

The Bish advanced to 1st year Connacht Semi Final with a score of 

Bish                 2-08

St. Mary's        1-02



 Tom Kelly

Aaron Kavanagh

James Morris Burke

Nathan Ruffley

Conor Corcoran

Rory McDonnell

Ethan Fiorentini

Aaron Flynn (capt)

Sean Comer O'Brien

Aaron Mchugh                0-01

David Hurley

Gavin Summerville        1-03

Pj Ward                          0-03

Daniel o'Flatherty          0-01

Mikey Maguire              1-00




John O'Mahony had words of encouragement for all the Bish 1st Year team during his recent visit to the Bish.  The Bish 1st Year footballers have qualified for the League final after winning 4 games from 4 in their group. Coaches Alan Glynn, Keith O'Reilly & Ronan Ludden now turn their attention towards St. Muredach's College, Ballina in the first round of the Championship.  


Bish 6-10

Athenry  1-02


Bish 4-08

Claregalway 2-05


Bish 5-09

Athenry  1-04


Bish    7-13

Oranmore   0-6



© 2016 St. Joseph’s College. All Rights Reserved | Staff | Privacy PolicyVSWare Login